Papiliorama

In the but­ter­fly dome Papil­io­ra­ma, over 1 000 exot­ic but­ter­flies fly freely around the vis­i­tors in a lush trop­i­cal gar­den. With their daz­zling colours and var­i­ous shapes and sizes, they offer an enchant­i­ng bal­let. The oth­er stages in the butterfly’s fas­ci­nat­ing life cycle can also be dis­cov­ered: the hatch­ing of a but­ter­fly from its pupa in the emerg­ing cham­ber or the eggs and cater­pil­lars in the ter­rar­i­ums.

The trop­i­cal cli­mate in the 1 200 m² dome trans­ports vis­i­tors into the fas­ci­nat­ing world of the trop­ics. The plant world is rep­re­sent­ed here with around 120 species: a colour­ful sea of flow­ers with nec­tar plants for but­ter­flies, but also large palm trees and oth­er impres­sive orna­men­tal plants. Our exhi­bi­tion is inhab­it­ed not only by but­ter­flies, but also by var­i­ous spec­tac­u­lar bird species such as nec­tar birds, Nico­bar pigeons and tura­cos. The waters are pop­u­lat­ed by fresh­wa­ter stingrays and oth­er excit­ing fish species from the trop­ics of Amer­i­ca and Asia.

Nocturama

The Noc­tura­ma is a world­wide unique exhi­bi­tion: the translu­cent roof of the dome fil­ters the nat­ur­al day­light and cre­ates a full moon night atmos­phere inside. The reversed day and night rhythm makes it pos­si­ble to take a noc­tur­nal walk in the mid­dle of the day and observe the mys­te­ri­ous, noc­tur­nal ani­mals of the trop­i­cal forests. Along the paths you will dis­cov­er sloths, tree por­cu­pines, night mon­keys, armadil­los and many oth­er ani­mals.

The adven­ture begins after a short adap­ta­tion peri­od, dur­ing which the eyes of the vis­i­tors adjust to the dark­ness of the full moon night. Many of the ani­mal enclo­sures in Noc­tura­ma are semi-open so that the ani­mals can be observed excep­tion­al­ly well and at close range. The wind­ing paths lead past sloths and rac­coons, but also past the large fish pond. On their walk, vis­i­tors are accom­pa­nied by the end­less bal­let of the free-fly­ing bats. The tour also leads through the breed­ing sta­tion, where many of the Noc­tura­ma species are specif­i­cal­ly bred as part of the breed­ing pro­grammes of the Euro­pean Soci­ety of Zoos and Aquar­i­ums. Thus, the Papil­io­ra­ma Foun­da­tion makes a valu­able con­tri­bu­tion to the pro­tec­tion of numer­ous ani­mal species in cap­tiv­i­ty.

Jungle Trek

Since 1989 the Papil­io­ra­ma has been run­ning a nature reserve in Belize, Cen­tral Amer­i­ca. Jun­gle Trek is an authen­tic copy of these rich trop­i­cal habi­tats and offers vis­i­tors an excit­ing hike through the trop­i­cal for­est.

On an area of 1 200 m² about 150 plant and 30 ani­mal species can be dis­cov­ered. The vis­i­tors are accom­pa­nied on their tour by the colour­ful Rain­boy tou­cans, the curi­ous Green jays or the primeval look­ing Black igua­nas. Coat­is, Pekaris, Tayras and oth­er excit­ing trop­i­cal for­est species inhab­it in the enclo­sures at the edge of the dome. The two ponds are also copies of exist­ing waters in the reserve and are home to a rich vari­ety of fish. The 7 m high panora­ma bridge offers a view from above and into the canopy. The trop­i­cal for­est exhi­bi­tion inte­grat­ed into the dome encour­ages reflec­tion on the fate of these unique habi­tats and offers an insight into our over­seas nature con­ser­va­tion project.

Wild Seeland

The Papil­io­ra­ma Foun­da­tion is com­mit­ted to famil­iar­iz­ing vis­i­tors with local nature and show­ing them the impor­tance of intact habi­tats and bio­di­ver­si­ty. There­fore, only native plants grow on the out­door premis­es and new and valu­able dry and wet habi­tats are con­stant­ly being cre­at­ed. Numer­ous native ani­mal and plant species have already set­tled in the new­ly cre­at­ed biotope.

The obser­va­tion hut, called “Obser­va­to­ri­um diver­si­tatis”, gives an insight into the new­ly cre­at­ed allu­vial zone. The water lev­el can be reg­u­lat­ed to sim­u­late the nat­ur­al con­di­tions in such flood zones as accu­rate­ly as pos­si­ble. Dry habi­tats, such as dry grass­lands or dry herba­ceous mar­gins, pro­vide biotopes for oth­er species. In 2017, a sur­vey of all the species found on the revi­talised out­side area of the Papil­io­ra­ma was car­ried out. Almost 300 plant and 300 ani­mal species were iden­ti­fied. These can be admired in the “Let it Grow” exhib­it. In the com­ing years many more species will cer­tain­ly be added.

Bug Biotop

Dur­ing the warm sea­son the 500 m2 large Bug Big­top is home to up to 10 dif­fer­ent species of indige­nous but­ter­flies. The species shown are all still rel­a­tive­ly fre­quent in the Swiss mid­lands ex. the Small Tor­toise­shell, the Paint­ed Lady, the Euro­pean Pea­cock, the C-Fal­ter, the Small cab­bage white and the Swal­low­tail. Eggs, cater­pil­lars and pupae can be seen on the net­tles, fen­nel and oth­er host plants. And with a bit of luck you can watch a but­ter­fly emerg­ing from its pupa in the emerg­ing cham­ber. Besides indige­nous but­ter­flies, the Bug Big­top har­bours a range of oth­er small ani­mals such as woodlice, ants, spi­ders, lady­birds, earth­worms and aquat­ic insects. The show bum­ble­bee colony offers a fas­ci­nat­ing insight into the life of these dili­gent pol­li­na­tors.

The wild bee cal­en­dar was cre­at­ed in col­lab­o­ra­tion with wildbee.ch and presents the diver­si­ty of indige­nous wild bees in the course of the sea­sons. The busy lit­tle ani­mals can be observed close-up in prox­im­i­ty of the installed nest­ing ele­ments and the vis­i­tors can learn much about these impor­tant pol­li­na­tors.

European Pond Turtles

The Euro­pean Pond Tur­tle (Emys orbic­u­laris) is the only indige­nous tur­tle species. This species used to inhab­it all slow-flow­ing water sur­faces rich in veg­e­ta­tion in the whole of Switzer­land. Today only two pop­u­la­tions are left, prob­a­bly the result of released ani­mals. Their dis­ap­pear­ing is due to intense hunt­ing over cen­turies on one hand, but also due to habi­tat destruc­tion. Since a few years, the Papil­io­ra­ma Foun­da­tion has been involved in a rein­tro­duc­tion project for the Euro­pean Pond Tur­tle. From Spring to Autumn the tur­tles can be observed sun-bathing.

Zoë Zoo – our petting zoo

What is not pos­si­ble in the oth­er exhi­bi­tions is explic­it­ly allowed here: the ani­mals in the Zoë Zoo can be touched and pam­pered to your heart’s con­tent.

The dwarf don­keys Wes­ley and Pinko, the dwarf goats, the rab­bits, ducks and chick­ens move around freely between the vis­i­tors. They love being cud­dled, even by the youngest vis­i­tors, and are always patient­ly avail­able for fam­i­ly por­traits. Should they need a break, the ani­mals can retreat to the rest zone at any time. But usu­al­ly some­one is always avail­able for a caress.

Nature playground

An extra­or­di­nary play­ground!

Built from untreat­ed false aca­cia (Robinia, an inva­sive species in Switzer­land!), the nature play­ground stands in a light for­est, crossed by small waters. On the climb­ing course the chil­dren can test their coor­di­na­tion and dex­ter­i­ty. The water play­ground is espe­cial­ly pop­u­lar on sun­ny days. Here you can dam up, pump and divert the water to your heart’s con­tent. The pic­nic area per­fect­ly com­ple­ments the fam­i­ly-friend­ly offer.

Shipstern

We protect 400 km2 of tropical forest in Belize.

Shipstern

Wir schützen 400 kmTropenwald in Belize.

Papiliorama

Dans le jardin à papil­lons du Papil­io­ra­ma, plus de 1000 papil­lons exo­tiques virev­o­lent libre­ment autour des vis­i­teurs dans un jardin trop­i­cal lux­u­ri­ant. Avec leurs couleurs éblouis­santes et leurs formes et tailles var­iées, ils offrent un bal­let enchanteur. Les autres étapes du cycle de vie fasci­nant du papil­lon peu­vent égale­ment être décou­vertes : l’éclosion d’un papil­lon à par­tir de sa chrysalide dans l’écloserie ou les œufs et les che­nilles dans les ter­rar­i­ums.

Le cli­mat trop­i­cal qui reigne dans ce dôme de 1 200 m² entraîne le vis­i­teur dans l’univers fasci­nant des tropiques. Le monde végé­tal y est représen­té avec env­i­ron 120 espèces: une mer col­orée de fleurs avec des plantes à nec­tar pour papil­lons, mais aus­si de grands palmiers et autres plantes orne­men­tales impres­sion­nantes. L’exposition est habitée non seule­ment par des papil­lons, mais aus­si par divers­es espèces d’oiseaux spec­tac­u­laires telles que des oiseaux nec­tari­vores, des Pigeons de Nico­bars et des tura­cos. Les eaux sont peu­plées de raies et d’autres espèces de pois­sons des tropiques d’Amérique et d’Asie.

Nocturama

Le Noc­tura­ma est une expo­si­tion unique au monde: le toit translu­cide du dôme fil­tre la lumière naturelle du jour et crée une atmo­sphère de pleine lune à l’intérieur. Le rythme inverse du jour et de la nuit per­met de faire une prom­e­nade noc­turne en plein jour et d’observer les mys­térieux ani­maux noc­turnes des forêts trop­i­cales. Le long des sen­tiers, vous décou­vrirez des paresseux, des cœn­dous, des singes de nuit, des tatous et de nom­breux autres ani­maux.

Après une courte péri­ode d’adaptation, pen­dant laque­lle les yeux des vis­i­teurs s’adaptent à l’obscurité de la nuit de pleine lune, l’aventure com­mence. La plu­part des enc­los de Noc­tura­ma sont semi-ouverts, de sorte que les ani­maux peu­vent être observés excep­tion­nelle­ment bien et à courte dis­tance. Les sen­tiers sin­ueux passent devant les paresseux et les ratons laveurs, mais aus­si devant le grand étang à poi­sons. Pen­dant leur prom­e­nade, les vis­i­teurs sont accom­pa­g­nés par le bal­let inces­sant des chauves-souris qui volent libre­ment. Le cir­cuit passe égale­ment par la sta­tion d’élevage, où de nom­breuses espèces de Noc­tura­ma sont spé­ci­fique­ment élevées dans le cadre des pro­grammes de repro­duc­tion de l’association européenne des zoos et aquar­i­ums EAZA. La Fon­da­tion Papil­io­ra­ma apporte une con­tri­bu­tion pré­cieuse à la pro­tec­tion de nom­breuses espèces ani­males en cap­tiv­ité.

Jungle Trek

Depuis 1989, le Papil­io­ra­ma gère une réserve naturelle au Belize en Amérique cen­trale. Le dôme trop­i­cal Jun­gle Trek est une copie authen­tique de ces rich­es habi­tats trop­i­caux et offre aux vis­i­teurs une ran­don­née pas­sion­nante à tra­vers la forêt trop­i­cale.

Sur une super­fi­cie de 1 200 m², on peut décou­vrir env­i­ron 150 espèces végé­tales et 30 espèces ani­males. Les vis­i­teurs sont accom­pa­g­nés dans leur vis­ite par le Tou­can à carène, les Geais verts curieux ou les Iguanes noirs à l’aspect prim­i­tif. Coat­is, Pekaris, Tayras et d’autres habi­tants pas­sion­nants de la forêt trop­i­cale peu­vent être observés enc­los à l’orée du dome. Les deux étangs sont égale­ment des copies des eaux exis­tantes dans la réserve et abri­tent une grande var­iété de pois­sons. Grâce au pont panoramique de 7 m de haut, la vie dans les cimes des arbres peut être décou­verte. L’exposition sur la forêt trop­i­cale inté­grée au dôme encour­age la réflex­ion sur le sort de ces habi­tats uniques et donne un aperçu de notre pro­jet de con­ser­va­tion de la nature à l’étranger.

Wild Seeland

La Fon­da­tion Papil­io­ra­ma s’engage à faire con­naître aux vis­i­teurs la nature locale et l’importance des habi­tats intacts et de la bio­di­ver­sité. Par con­séquent, seules les plantes indigènes poussent dans l’espace extérieur et de nou­veaux et pré­cieux habi­tats secs et humides sont con­stam­ment créés. De nom­breuses espèces ani­males et végé­tales indigènes se sont déjà instal­lées sur le site.

La cabane d’observation, appelée « Obser­va­to­ri­um diver­si­tatis », donne un aperçu du paysage de plaine allu­viale nou­velle­ment créé. Le niveau d’eau peut être réglé pour simuler le plus pré­cisé­ment pos­si­ble les con­di­tions naturelles d’une plaine inond­able. Les biotopes secs, comme les prairies sèch­es, offrent un habi­tat pour d’autres espèces. Les résul­tats sont impres­sion­nants : dans une étude réal­isée en 2017, près de 500 espèces végé­tales et 300 espèces ani­males ont été trou­vées sur le site renat­u­ral­isé. Toutes les espèces trou­vées peu­vent être admirées dans l’exposition « Let it Grow ».

Tente aux P’tites bêtes

Selon la sai­son, on peut observ­er jusqu’à 10 espèces de papil­lons indigènes dif­férentes dans la Tente aux P’tites bêtes. Dans cette expo­si­tion d’une sur­face de 500 m² seules les espèces qui sont encore rel­a­tive­ment com­munes dans la plaine Suisse, comme la Petite tortue, la Vanesse des chardons, le Paon du jour, le Robert-le-Dia­ble, les piérides ou le Machaon, sont représen­tées. Sur les orties, le fenouil et autres plantes hôtes, on trou­ve sou­vent des œufs, des che­nilles ou des chrysalides. Et avec un peu de chance, vous pour­rez voir l’éclosion d’un papil­lon dans l’écloserie.  En plus des papil­lons indigènes, d’autres petits ani­maux comme les clo­portes, les four­mis, les araignées, les coc­cinelles, les vers de terre ou les insectes aqua­tiques peu­vent égale­ment être décou­verts. La colonie de bour­dons offre un aperçu fasci­nant de la vie de ces pollinisa­teurs dili­gents.

Le cal­en­dri­er des abeilles sauvages, crée avec le sou­tien de wildbee.ch, présente un éven­tail de la diver­sité des abeilles sauvages indigènes que l’on peut observ­er au cours de l’année. Les mul­ti­ples nids mis à leur dis­po­si­tion per­me­t­tent d’observer ces petits ani­maux assidus de très près et aux vis­i­teurs d’en appren­dre beau­coup à leur sujet.

La cistude d’Europe

La cis­tude d’Europe (Emys orbic­u­laris) est la seule espèce de tortue indigène. Elle habitait par le passé toutes les zones humides de Suisse où rég­naient tran­quil­lité et végé­ta­tion lux­u­ri­ante. Il n’en existe actuelle­ment plus que deux pop­u­la­tions, qui ont prob­a­ble­ment sub­sisté grâce aux lâch­er réguliers (mais illé­gaux), d’individus cap­tifs. Leur dis­pari­tion n’est pas unique­ment la con­séquence d’une chas­se ciblée durant des siè­cles, elle est aus­si et surtout le résul­tat d’une destruc­tion général­isée de leur habi­tat naturel. La Fon­da­tion Papil­io­ra­ma s’implique depuis plusieurs années déjà dans un pro­jet nation­al visant à réin­tro­duire ou ren­forcer des pop­u­la­tions de cis­tudes d’Europe en Suisse. Dans l’étang qui leur est dédié, elles sont facile­ment observ­ables lorsqu’elles pren­nent un bon bain de soleil.

Zoë Zoo – notre mini-zoo

Ce qui n’est pas pos­si­ble dans les autres expo­si­tions est per­mis ici: les ani­maux du Zoë Zoo peu­vent être touchés et dor­lotés à votre guise.

Les ânes nains Wes­ley et Pinko, les chèvres naines, les lap­ins, les canards et les poules se dépla­cent libre­ment entre les vis­i­teurs. Ils aiment se faire câlin­er der­rière les oreilles par les plus jeunes vis­i­teurs où sont patiem­ment disponibles pour des por­traits de famille. Si néces­saire, les ani­maux peu­vent se retir­er dans l’aire de repos à tout moment. Quelqu’un est tou­jours disponible pour une caresse.

Place de jeu naturelle

Un ter­rain de jeu extra­or­di­naire!

Con­stru­it à par­tir de faux aca­cias non traités (Robinia, une espèce envahissante en Suisse!), le ter­rain de jeu naturel se dresse dans une forêt légère, tra­ver­sée par de petites eaux. Sur le par­cours d’escalade, les enfants peu­vent tester leur coor­di­na­tion et leur dex­térité. Le ter­rain de jeux aqua­tiques est par­ti­c­ulière­ment pop­u­laire par beau temps. Ici, vous pou­vez créer de bar­rages, pom­per et dévi­er à votre guise. L’aire de pique-nique com­plète par­faite­ment l’offre pour les familles.


Shipstern

Nous protégeons 400 km2 de forêt tropicale au Belize.

Member of: